Xendomains startup script and SELinux

I’m starting to really hate SE Linux. I was spinning my wheels for a hours recently troubleshooting an error message I would get when running /etc/init.d/xendomains to auto start/stop Xen VMs in CentOS.

“No handlers could be found for logger “xend””

If I manually started the VM, it worked fine, but the init script would just not work. After reducing the script to it’s most basic functionality and ignoring the settings in /etc/sysconfig/xendomains I was able to determine SE Linux was causing the problem. As soon as I disabled it with “setenforce 0”, it worked.

I could understand having this problem if the script or RPM packages were custom, but Xen + xendomains are all Centos packages. The RPMs should contain the SE Linux commands to allow Xen VM startup from the startup script.

Truly annoying.

About this entry